when will smartphones reach console level?

#1 Posted by Pcmasterrace69 (311 posts) -

Hi. Im a truck driver and I stay 30 days in my truck away from home only to visit home for 2 days then back to work another 30 days.

I own consoles and pc but right now my free time is very short so I use a samsung s8 from last year as my entertainment device.

And today I woke up curious.

when will smartphones be capable of playing games that were on xbox 360 like oblivion. skyrim. gta 4 and 5..?

phones are more and more powerful every 1 or 2 years.. when will ps3/xbox 360 games port to smartphones?

#2 Posted by Grey_Eyed_Elf (5954 posts) -

Well the Switch is already there and it a portable console.

Just buy that, its cheaper than every flagship phone out there by a mile.

Smartphones will get there eventually in terms of hardware but the quality of games won't, so your only option will be a dedicated handheld console like a Switch if you want console gaming.

You won't regret it... Skyrim, Diablo 3, Dark Souls, Zelda, Mario on a hand held device if you want entertainment on the go there is nothing that can touch it.

#3 Posted by rzxv04 (237 posts) -

i think the latest smartphones already could but it seems to be a matter of getting those games into iOS and Android.

No idea why Skyrim and Fallout PS360 era games aren't there. I'm guessing it's more of a publisher choice but that's confusing, ps360 games have already been pirated to hell and back on all platforms why not try skinny dipping into iOS and see if they catch some fishes that actually pay.

Nvidia was really trying but they just gave up with the Shield platform.

Teams are probably just waiting for the Cloud.

Throttling and storage size might also be issues.

Maybe iOS and Android have rip-off deals to get games into those platforms.

Mobile is probably considered by industry to be f2p formula. I'm not sure if they'd be bothered to rearm ps360 era games as sheety f2ps.